Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches

on

These Double Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches are stuffed with coffee ice cream for a rich, creamy treat.

DSC_0018_e

I am a firm believer in the positive effects ice cream can have on one’s soul, and that it should be enjoyed no matter what the weather.

One of my favorite treats as a child was ice cream sandwiches. According to mom, those were the “kids” ice cream. It usually came as a vanilla flavored ice cream sandwiches between two soggy pieces of thin, cake-like chocolate biscuits that would just melt between your fingers, turning everything into a sticky mess. But we loved it.

Fast-forward a couple decades later, I find myself reaching for those sandwiches as I go on with my weekly grocery shopping. I dunno if it was a hit of nostalgia, but I just started craving them. And it was just as soggy, and just as satisfying as I remembered it. After that I figured that, after my years of baking experience, I should be able to recreate it as perfect as it can be, and do that treat justice.

DSC_0010_e

The whole cookie, in my mind, is a classy grown-up version of something so fun and child-like.

The great thing about this recipe is that it’s sort of a 2-in-1 dessert. The double chocolate chunk cookies are pretty delectable all on their own. The addition of espresso powder deepens the chocolate flavor along with the chunks of dark chocolate bits. In my humble opinion, if you’re going for chocolate, go deep and go dark.

DSC_0021_e

Or you can go the extra mile, topping the rich cookies off with a chilly ice cream of your choice. I used a thoroughly decadent Coffee ice cream from Ben&Jerry’s, but pretty much EVERY flavor of ice cream goes with chocolate, except maybe the triple caramel one as it turns it a bit too sweet.

When it comes to baking the cookies, you need to figure out if you’re gonna eat them on their own, or use them for sandwiches. I tried 3 different baking times, 8, 10, and 12 minutes. 10 minutes was perfect for stand alone cookies, slightly under baked and chewy on the inside. If you need them for sandwiches, then keep them for 12 minutes, so you can get a sturdy cookie that won’t crumble apart when stuffed with the ice cream.

DSC_0027_e

There are a million different “techniques”to get tidy ice cream fillings, I took the lazy way and just scooped them onto the cookies, using a spoon!

With the few ice cream sandwich cookies that didn’t get eaten, I put them in a plastic container and froze them. Allow them to sit on the counter for a few minutes or zap in the microwave for 5 seconds to soften for easiest eating. The cookies remain soft even when frozen so you don’t have to worry about breaking a tooth.

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies Ice Cream Sandwiches

Ice Cream Sandwiches

 

 

Leave a Reply

