Six Reasons You Should Not Start a Food Blog

I’m going to Paris tomorrow. And it’s not just a vacation. I am taking part of a workshop at Le Cordon Bleu. Yes, even as I type it out I can hardly believe it. It came as a very impulsive decision back at the end of 2016, when I turned a bit obsessed with bread making. And this got me thinking of Julia Child. I’m not gonna lie, before watching the movie Julie&Julia, I had no idea who she was. But after that, I was truly fascinated by her.

Her love for food, and french cuisine in particular, was fascinating to me. She was so curious, so full of enthusiasm to learn the deep secrets of what she was passionate about. Her book, “My Life in France” is truly a pleasure to read. But her life, as fruitful and eventful as it was, is not what I want to talk about here. This is more of a personal post.

Why am I starting this off with Julia? Well because I once read an article that mentions how Julia did not attend the last tribute event that was set up for her by Boston’s culinary historians. It was a small event, yet she refused to attend. “I don’t want to hear people talk about me,” she told the historians. “I’m going to be too embarrassed sitting there.” This is an excerpt from an article titled “Are Food Blogs Killing the Joy of Cooking?“. I’m not really going to get into a discussion over what’s on point, and what is a total miss from that article. That could be a post for another day.

fresh

I just want to point out 6 Reasons Why You Should Never Become a Food Blogger.

  1. To be “successful” you need to be multi-talented. You’re the recipe creator, writer, food stylist, photographer, and consumer. If that wasn’t enough, you have to stay active on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, and god knows what other platform that might pop up.
  2. Unlike review bloggers, lifestyle bloggers, gossip bloggers… you need to create all your own, original content. With pictures.
  3.  A big chunk of your bank account is dedicated to your blog. Apart from the ingredients, you need to purchase a good camera (although I’ve seen a lot of beautiful photography done by phones), props and backdrops. Not every cookie can be photographed in front of a black backdrop. Not all drinks can be served in the same glasses…
  4. Having to come up with a blogging schedule that would fit the rest of your life schedule is extremely tiring and time consuming. Trying to bake 3 recipes on a single weekend day is hard enough, trying to get them all photographed before you lose the “perfect light” is a whole other dilemma. Let’s not mention the behind the scene cleaning up that takes up the rest of the day.
  5. You get more rejections, and negative criticism than you’re mentally capable of taking. FoodGawker is just one platform that is seriously demoralizing if you’re starting out. “over exposed”, “under exposed”, “awkward angle”, “Too much light” are just some of the reasons they give.
  6. You get labeled as “uncooperative” because of the number of invites you turn down from restaurants/hotels that ask you to review them. I’m not saying I won’t write a sponsored post, but I’m not going to review your steakhouse mainly because there is no category for it on my blog (nor am I considering starting one). Maintaining my blog’s integrity is a priority.

But then regardless of that, you go ahead and start a food blog. And then all the good outweighs the bad.

It’s rewarding and fun.

It helps you grow. Every negative comment can be simply brushed off just by reading all the supportive comments you get. All the ego boosting virtual taps on the back. Seeing the joy it brings to people who read your posts or get the chance to try your recipes. Because after 3+ years of blogging you still wonder if anyone’s actually reading.

It’s challenging. No matter how many chocolate chip cookie recipes you find out there, every single one of them would be different, with the blogger’s own twist/touch on it based on their experience.

You get to host events for your favorite bakery. Bringing you in front of people, away from the screen of your computer. (yes, that’s me in the red jacket in case you couldn’t tell).

dsc_0184

As for the rejections? The countless FoodGawker rejections I faced made me work harder at evolving my photography skills. They’re far from being perfect, but (since I haven’t had a rejection in a while) I can safely say I’m getting there.

And lastly, it’s all about food.  And sharing food is good.

What motivates you to keep blogging?

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Shahira says:

    This came at a perfect time for me. I am no food blogger so I really do not know the ins and outs of food blogging, but I am a parenting blogger and have been rejecting sponsored content left and right which were not in line with my niche. So almost all I got until now and right now am literally wondering is it good to be sticking to my niche and have zero events/invites or be like event/lifestyle bloggers who can go for just about anything.
    “Maintaining my blogs integrity is my priority” – Salute and taking inspiration from it – sticking with my niche😊

    1. Rouaw says:

      I’m so glad this was helpful! I just felt like I needed to get that off my chest, and I’m so relieved that I’m not the only one who goes through that. Post about what interests you, in the end a blog is personal before being a marketing platform for brands 😊

  2. This is probably the second time I am visiting your blog – and it seems like I discover something exciting every time. The first time I saw the honey comb recipe and went gaga over it. You’re not only a good baker and photographer from what I see, but a good writer too! Definitely following your blog here on!

    1. Rouaw says:

      That is a great compliment, Thank you!!

  3. Patyl-Astrid says:

    To be straight forward with you I am not a person who enjoys following food bloggers nor any food related instagram. I don’t remember what made me want click on your link, read your posts and start following you. I love your blog and I am happy to hear about your trip! The above post was very enjoyable and the content in a way can be applicable to other specific blog contents. Best of luck in Paris.

    1. Rouaw says:

      Your comment just made my day! I’m glad to know that something about my blog appeals to you! Thank you!

  4. Rami Sleem says:

    I hope the trip to Paris inspires you more. You already are doing a great job making all these delicious desserts. I wish you nothing but the best.
    Supporter from day one!
    Rami

    1. Rouaw says:

      You are one of the people I owe a lot to for what this blog has become. Number one motivator and supporter!! Thank you love ❤️

  5. Lovely post. Honest and true. Enjoy Paris! What a great way to start 2017.

    1. Rouaw says:

      Thank you ❤️

  6. I am so excited for you! Yes Julia made me want to know more about French cuisine! I can relate to every word yoj wrote about creating recipes, photographing and the clean up afterwards. And rejecting what’s not in your niche is good as you can clearly show them. I have rejected some absolutely fantastic events because I just don’t like them nor is it my niche. Its all about the balance of your blog that makes readers want to come back.

  7. Apeksha Adme says:

    Hi I’m an amateur food blogger. I totally agree with your views on food blogging and I’m trying hard to be in the ring!

    1. Rouaw says:

      Just keep doing what you’re passionate about and never bend your blogging values for anything. Good luck!

      1. Apeksha Adme says:

        Thank you 🙂

  8. I love and dislike blogging for all the reasons you have identified. It was blogging that brought me in touch with my inner baker/chocolate maker, as it led me to go back to school and try something so far removed from what I do for a living. Really enjoyed this post!

    1. Rouaw says:

      I love all your creations, and I’m glad you got in touch with that side!

  9. melkedl says:

    I’ve never really thought about all that goes into a food blog though they are probably my favorite thing ever and I spend almost all of my free time reading them. I never get around to actually making the dish because, as number 3 states, it costs money!

    1. Rouaw says:

      Well it’s not the recipe that costs money, it’s all the props used for the pictures!!

Leave a Reply

