Day 9 of “12 Days of Baking”: Pomegranate Rosemary Punch

I keep seeing cranberry cocktails popping up for the holidays, and I can’t help but wonder why are pomegranates so underrated around the holidays. Since I need a break from butter and sugar and frosting, I thought I’d bring you something to sip on while you sit around that tree.

dsc_0160_e

dsc_0164_e

I’m not much of a drinker. But every now and then I enjoy sipping on a drink or two, especially during this festive season. However, I’m not much of a cocktail person, but every once and a while, though, something comes along that is so good, I have to have one all to myself. I was at an event a few weeks ago, and they were serving this beautiful pomegranate punch that made me smile to myself a bit. The weather was still really warm, but somehow, that drink made it feel like winter and snow. I just had to recreate it.

dsc_0171_e

Meet my Pomegranate Rosemary Punch. It just screams Christmas to me. This drink is festive in flavors & colors, making it the perfect holiday cocktail. A rosemary simple syrup, combined with a dose of pomegranate juice and tempered with some lemon creates a perfect juxtaposition of  tart, sweet and pine. And for those non-alcohol drinkers and kids at the holidays, these are just as delicious without the booze.

dsc_0181_e

With this cocktail, you’ll use your left over herbs to make rosemary infused simply syrup. This simple syrup can be kept sealed in the refrigerator for later use. The syrup is a great way to introduce uniquely subtle flavors to your cocktails.

dsc_0174_e

So, I would like to propose a toast. To life, and the people who make it wonderful. To not taking anything for granted. A toast to the upcoming holidays, family and friends, and all the incredible things we have to be thankful for.

“12 Days of Baking”
Day 1: Apple Frangipane Tart
Day 2: Rugelach
Day 3: Almond Linzer Cookies
Day 4: Chocolate Salami
Day 5: Almond ginger Biscotti
Day 6: Coffee Sablé
Day 7: Florentines
Day 8: Foolproof Holiday Fudge

Pomegranate Rosemary Punch

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1-3 Tbsp rosemary simple syrup (1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 sprig rosemary. Boil water until sugar dissolves, remove from heat, add rosemary and let sit for 15-20 minutes. Remove rosemary and refrigerate simple syrup)
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate juice
  • Ginger ale, chilled
  • 1 oz gin (optional if you want to add a buzz)
  • Ice cubes
  • Rosemary sprigs and pomegranate arils for garnish

Directions

Fill the glass quarter way with ice. Add the pomegranate juice, lemon juice, 1-3 tablespoons rosemary syrup (to taste) and gin (if using). Top with ginger ale. Drink up and enjoy!

Bon Appetit 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

