How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

“NO PARTICULARLY SPECIAL EQUIPMENT IS ESSENTIAL TO THE PROCESS.”

If you’ve been following this space for the past two years, and if you’ve been following me on Instagram or Snapchat, you’ll know what’s coming in a few days. With December just a few days away, and with Christmas just 26 days, 12 hours and 13 minutes (who’s counting?), I’m getting ready for the #12DaysOfBaking.

We all know how frantic this time of the year is. In the middle of all the joy and festivities, lurks the stress and chaos of all the planning, feast prepping, and gift shopping. So take this moment to breathe, and give yourself a caffeine jolt to get you back on track.

dsc_0040_e

I’ve talked before about my recent obsession with Cold brew coffee when I made the Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream, and it has basically become the only coffee I drink in the morning. The taste is so much smoother and less acidic than when the coffee is brewed with hot water. And let’s talk about the savings here! This method is much cheaper than the $4.oo coffee shop variety.

The process for making cold brew in a French press is basically the same as making hot coffee, only it takes many, many more hours to brew (12, to be exact), but don’t be intimidated by the commitment, most of the work happens when you’re fast asleep.

dsc_0038_e

So today, I’m sharing my easy peasy method to make cold brew coffee at home. All you need is water, coarsely ground coffee, and a coffee filter to strain everything once it’s brewed. I usually use my French Press to make it, but you can just use any container you have on you.

All you need to remember is 3:1. Three parts water to one part coffee. I like to add a pinch of salt and cinnamon to help enhance the coffee flavor. Mix together and leave it on your kitchen counter for 12 hours.Once you strain it in the morning, you’ve got a perfect coffee concentrate that will last for up to 5 days in the fridge. This recipe can be easily scaled up, too.

Keep in mind that this is a coffee concentrate,so you’ll need to dilute your coffee with some water when you make your coffee drink (unless you really like strong coffee). This part depends on your preferences, I mix 1 part coffee with two parts water or creamer, and add a bit of sweetener (agave). Play around with that combination till you find what’s right for you.

Cold Brew Coffee
Makes 4 cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup coarse ground coffee (I usually use the Starbucks Medium Roast)
  • 3 Cups water
  • Pinch of Cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Pour ground coffee into french press, add water, cinnamon, salt and stir. Cover (but do not press) and refrigerate for 12-18 hours.
  2. Press the french press plunger down, and then pour coffee through a filter into a jar. Cover and refrigerate.
  3. Pour cold brew coffee over ice, and stir in coffee creamer to taste.
  4. This concentrate keeps well for up to 5 days in the fridge.

Bon Appetit 🙂

25 Comments Add yours

  1. OneShotLatte says:

    I love Vietnamese blend too but the hot brew!!! Love this quick and easy way to prepare a cold brew. Will definitely try 🙂

    1. Rouaw says:

      The sweetness of a Vietnamese coffee is just perfect!

  2. luckilylenny says:

    Coffee is always at its best. ❤

  3. Cofffeeeeee! Such an easy way to prepare cold brew coffee, taking notes, taking notes.

  4. You have nailed my current obsession!

  5. Kathryn says:

    Informative post, I’ll have to try this….!

    1. Rouaw says:

      Let me know what you think if you do!

  6. Bunny, Monkey & Me says:

    Oh lovely! Will make this for hubby. Going to add a pinch of chilli powder too though

    1. Rouaw says:

      That sounds really good, hadn’t thought of that!

  7. Manju says:

    I am an occasional coffee drinker and I prefer to drink brewed coffee. I have a tiny steel brewing utensil at home in which i brew coffee with boiled water(filer coffee). After reading your post I feel like trying the cold version… 🙂

  8. Manju says:

    I am an occasional coffee drinker and I prefer to drink brewed coffee. I have a tiny steel brewing utensil at home in which i brew coffee with boiled water. After reading your post I feel like trying the cold version… 🙂

    1. Rouaw says:

      I use that coffee maker too for when I’m having coffee with my dad. Honestly these two are my favorite versions.

  9. Mommy Dil :) says:

    I might try this for the man! I personally dont dtink it..will let u know what he thinks 🙂

    1. Rouaw says:

      Oh yes, please do!

    1. Rouaw says:

      That’s such a compliment! Thank you dear 🙂

  10. Khansa says:

    I was sure that by the time I read your how to make cold brew coffee I would be craving for it. And, I was right. Keep those recipes coming! The pics are always so tempting

    1. Rouaw says:

      Well then prepare a pot now and enjoy it later 🙂

  11. yummymummyindoha says:

    I LOVE cold coffee …. if it wasn’t so late i’d make this right now. It will have to wait until tomorrow xxx

  12. danicaduco says:

    I loved this! Thanks for the details. Will definitely try this ❤️

  13. Flying Food Ninja says:

    I love your photography! I also love coffee. Such a shame it has to be decaf these days.

    1. Rouaw says:

      Coming from you, that’s a huge compliment! Well, decaf is still better than nothing 😀

      1. Flying Food Ninja says:

        Haha thank you. Totally agreed, I can trick myself into think it’s a regular coffee

  14. I was so relieved when I read that no special equipment is needed for the process!!…and then intrigued about the salt and cinnamon! I am definitely going to try this soon, I’ll let you know how I get on.

    Polly xx

Leave a Reply

