Confessions of a Junk Food Addict

rouas-junk

Let’s be honest. We all have our vices and secrets that are hidden in a dark corner of our pantry out of sight and out of reach of people around us. Things that come out late at night when that sudden craving hits you, and nothing can quite it like your secret guilty pleasures.

You might be wondering what this “dessert blogger” is rambling about. Isn’t all my blog’s content just a bunch of guilty pleasures? But the truth is, sugar doesn’t always cut it for me. Sometimes, all I want is a greasy burger, a McDonald’s Burger. Add me a side of cheesy fries from Hardee’s and I’m fueled up to face the world again.

The truth is, we all have our little junk food secrets that some of us would never publicly admit. Why? Because people are judgmental bullies. The internet is full of those picture perfect, healthy eating, kale-embracing food posts that are nothing but an attempt to give out a self proclaimed sophisticated vibe.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for fresh eating, home cooked meals, and sustainable agriculture. But I detest these never ending food trends that dictate the way someone should eat. I’m not judging anyone and would never think less of an organic farmer who would sneak a doughnut (or two) on occasion.

So I wanted to take the chance to list out some of my vices, my dirty pleasures, what lies deep within my shelves. Please don’t think any less of me.

rouas-junk-icons

Confession #1: Potato Chips. A box of Pringles Salt and Vinegar would make me happier than a purring cat sitting on my chest. I have also been guilty of putting Doritos sweet chili pepper chips in the microwave topped with loads of cheddar cheese, olives, relish and mustard.

Confession #2: McDonald’s Chicken Nuggets with French Fries. Up-sized. No ketchup allowed. I once had my boyfriend order me the big box and blamed it on my PMS.

Confession #3: Cheese. Not grilled. Not cooked. Not in a sandwich. Just a slice or two of cheese rolled into a log and straight into my mouth. Usually in my bed when everyone else is asleep.

Confession #4: Haagen Dazs Coffee Ice Cream. I wasn’t a huge fan of ice cream, until I got to try the coffee ice cream from haagen Dazs. Three scoops on top of an under-baked piece of gooey brownie is what the doctor prescribed. And by doctor, I mean me. And by me, I mean someone who is in no way in a position to give out medical advice.

Confession #5: Peanut butter on a spoon dipped in melted Nutella. Need I elaborate more?

Confession #6: Pizza. And not a sophisticated, fancy Italian place pizza. Papa John’s pizza. Occasionally, I try to make up excuses why we need to order some. “everywhere else is already closed” “It’s Tuesday, they have the special offer” “They have a new crust! (which we never order anyway).

Now it’s your turn. Let me know your confessions.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Doaa Jabir says:

    Actually felt like I was reading my mind…I’m all of this. Though peanut butter with melted Nutella, I’ve to dig into that 😉😉.
    Great post Rou’a!
    Loved every bit of it and I agree how we get judged for sharing non organic, non vegan posts 😄😄
    Love,
    Doaa Jabir
    http://Www.hungrybirdsdoha.com

    1. Rouaw says:

      I’m so glad you can relate to this! At the end of the day, it’s your own body, do what makes you feel good, no matter how “bad” it is!

  2. Omg my secret pleasure is the Frutti juice with everything. I mean I could drink it with breakfast lunch and dinner. Have a couple more like stuffing triangke cheese straight from the fridge!

    1. Rouaw says:

      I love that! Thanks for sharing ❤

  3. Christina says:

    This post made me laugh especially “And by me, I mean someone who is in no way in a position to give out medical advice.” :’D I have an addiction to gummy candy; like the pink teeth or the jelly cola bottles. YUM. Once I’m done with sweet, I go straight for S&V Chips for a full 180 flavour contrast haha.

    I also have a chocolate addiction; dark. But that’s not always junk (unless it’s in a crepe… mixed with white chocolate).

    1. Rouaw says:

      Oh yes, the endless “sweet-salty” loop! It’s brutal! Thanks for sharing! ❤

  4. Kathryn says:

    I put lurpak butter on cheddar cheese. There I said it!

    1. Rouaw says:

      That’s so good! Have you tried to spread a tiny bit of apricot jam on it?!

Leave a Reply

