No-Churn Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream

on

I have a complicated relationship with coffee. I can’t seem to function properly if I don’t have it in my system the moment I wake up, yet I rarely have a cup that gives me that full on satisfaction that you see in all those commercials. I dislike the after-taste of a french press coffee, and the bitterness of an espresso. I hate the commercial bland taste of instant coffee. No matter how bad a cup of coffee was, I would just suck it up and drink it, even if that meant leaving it at my office desk for hours with only one sip every 15 minutes. But I just could not manage to go on with my day if I didn’t have it.

dsc_0726

That was all about to change. I tried the cold brew method. Simple, straightforward, no fancy machines needed. Add your grounds in cold water, let it steep over night. the next day, put it through a filter, and enjoy the sweetness of perfectly brewed coffee. The coffee concentrate you get can be drank in many ways. Every variation I tried has its own charm. The straight black gives you that revitalizing shock. The addition of milk or almond creamer turns it into a bit of a more indulging drink.

dsc_0732

One of these alterations was Vietnamese coffee. Although I’ve never been particularly fond of sweet coffees, the combination of brewed dark roast coffee mixed with sweetened condensed milk poured over ice became so addictive.

And then my mind began to wander off. While brewing a pot one evening, I started to think about other ways of using cold brew coffee. The answer was inevitable; Ice Cream.

dsc_0728

I had tried the infamous HäagenDazs coffee ice cream, and was honestly really disappointed by how subtle the hit of coffee was in it, a small nod of the head in appreciation. I didn’t just want a nod. I wanted a thunderous explosion of coffee in my mouth that would make me wonder how I’m actually eating my coffee.

The great thing about this ice cream is that it’s no churn and takes minutes to put together. Whip the cream. Combine the condensed milk and coffee, and then mix it into the whipped cream. Freeze it, take it out after a few hours for a good whisk, and then let it sit overnight. You will love this simple and delicious coffee crunch ice cream.

dsc_0744

It truly is the truest of ice creams for those of you who are purists, all given that it requires only the most basic kitchen tools.

For an extra crunch element, I sprinkled homemade honey comb over each scoop, like little melt-in-your mouth gold clusters. I will be sharing the recipe for that soon!

Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream
Yields one 9 in. loaf pan

Ingredients

For the Coffee

  • 1/2 cup ground coffee
  • 1 1/2 cups cold water

For the Ice Cream

  • 1/2 cup strong brewed coffee, cold
  • 1  can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 50 grs melted dark chocolate
  • Honeycomb, for garnish (optional)

Directions:

  1. The night before, prepare the coffee by adding the ingredients in a pot and mixing them well. I use a french press to make it easier to push down the granules, making the filtering process faster. Leave over night to steep in the fridge.
  2. To make the icecream, put your whisk in the freezer, this will help whip the heavy cream faster.
  3. Combine the condensed milk and coffee in a small bowl. Whisk until smooth.
  4. Add the heavy cream to a large bowl. Using an electric mixer set to medium speed, beat until stiff peaks form. Turn the speed to low and slowly pour in the condensed milk and coffee mixture. Turn the speed back up to medium and beat until thickened.
  5. Brush the sides of the loaf pan with the melted dark chocolate, then pour the ice cream mixture into it. Using a silicone spatula, gently smooth out the surface.
  6. Freeze for 1-2 hours. When you take it out, it should be frozen on the sides with the middle still soft. Give it a good quick whisk, sort of like a mini manual churn. Return it to the freezer for about 6 hours or, ideally, over night.
  7. When ready to serve, scoop it out into your serving bowls and sprinkle with the honeycomb or any other desired garnish.

Bon Appetit 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Joshua says:

    This is a great idea. Vietnamese coffee is so good, and ice cream is good. Combining the two sounds amazing.

  2. Okay, so this must be the BEST dessert I ran in to today. Simply amazing and I want some! I love Vietnamese coffee!

Leave a Reply

