Mini Lemon Bundt Cakes

I’m a baker, not a cake decorator.

I have a very legitimate reason for shoving this declaration at the beginning of this post, and I’ll get to it in a second.

I published my last post back in December during my trip to London. As soon as my vacation was over, and I came back to reality, I peeked outside the baking box that I was in and signed up for a Wilton’s Method of Cake Decorating course in an attempt to work on the skills that were needed to create those “customized” cakes that have become a staple for every party and celebration. Two weeks into the course it hit me, baking means much more to me than a bland cake that serves as a mere platform for sugar flowers, layers of buttercream frosting, and edible statues.

I am in no way undermining the work, time and effort that are put into the making of these cakes (my favorite creations to look at are those from Unbirthday bakery), but it wasn’t the right outlet for me. Hence my opening line; I’m a baker, not a cake decorator. With enough practice, anyone can master the skills of building a sugar flower or piping rosettes and borders, but it does take special effort and taste to produce baked goods that are perfect as they are, without the need to dress them up in layers that only strip the flavors away.

Now that that’s out of the way, what better way to celebrate life  the ultimate realization of one’s passion and the beginning of spring that with a burst of lemony goodness? To be honest, I was flirting with the idea of serving something on the chocolate side of the spectrum, but nothing really stood out. Seems like even my taste buds were looking for something different.

I’ve had a mini-bundt pan since I first moved here (it’s been almost 3 years) and its still brand new. It seemed more than fitting to use it now. The ingredients are simple and you can find most of the ingredients in your pantry, and the lemons, they’re the main player in this dish, so be sure to use good fresh lemons. On top of having simple ingredients, this cake is so easy and convenient to make, trust me, I had a two year old (my niece, not my own!) running between my legs while working. Easy Peasy.

DSC_0044
Mini Lemon Bundt Cakes with Lemon Glaze
DSC_0053
Mini Lemon Bundt Cake with Lemon Glaze

Mini Lemon Bundt Cakes
Makes 20 mini bundts

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ½ cup honey
  • 1 cup milk
  • 100 gr melted butter
  • 3 tbs fresh lemon juice
  • Lemon zest from 1 lemon
  • ¾ cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs

For the Lemon Glaze:

  • Juice and zest of one lemon
  • 1 ½ cups powdered sugar

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170C. Lightly grease the bundt pan with butter (I used crisco original cooking spray). Set aside.
  2. Whisk the eggs and sugar in high speed for 2 minutes.
  3. Add the honey, milk, melted butter, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Mix well.
  4. Add the flour, baking powder, and salt. Mix well.
  5. Pour the batter to mini bundt cake pan and bake for 25 minutes.
  6. For the Glaze: As the cakes are cooling, prepare the glaze by mixing everything together till smooth. Use immediately.
  7. The cakes are best left at room temperature. just store them in an airtight container.

Bon Appetit 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. HishamAD says:

    Oh you have no idea how I dislike those decorated cakes. Even the ones from Cake Boss. I’d rather have a delicious cake than a cake that just looks good.

    Your cakes look good and delicious 😊

    1. rouaw says:

      I saw this phrase today “Fondant: a substance that makes your cake look amazing but taste like stale bubblegum” and it can’t be more accurate! You’re one of the few people who actually have good taste!

      1. HishamAD says:

        Oh. That’s nasty! Never thought of it like that. I’m gonna use it 🙈
        And thank you Miss 😊

  2. gloasdfghjkl says:

    Thank you for the recipe! Looks really good and I’m going to try this soon! ^^

    1. rouaw says:

      Yay! Please do let me know how they turn out.

Leave a Reply

