The What if’s

on

DSC_0048

There’s a lot of talk about “realizing dreams” that has been going around me lately. Everywhere I turn, I see people working their way to getting there. With all the means available now, I doubt people are excused for not chasing after those twinkling lights. But sometimes one struggle remains, figuring out what that dream is. You might just find yourself stuck in a cycle, longing to break, just never really figuring out what step to take.

I never had a clear idea of what I wanted to be. When people ask me what my dream is, I stutter and trip over my words. My insecurity rears its ugly head. As a kid I was always influenced by characters I discover and grow attached to. I wanted to be writer, a lawyer, a teacher, and at some point, a witch. But eventually I had decided to get into architecture, mainly because I couldn’t get myself to imagine a life with all the constraints, that at that point I was convinced that all the other majors imposed. If you’ve followed me for long enough, you might know how I came to realize what my real dream is, My little sweet corner.

DSC_0049

I’ve talked about it so much that it became an obsession of mine. I’d come up with recipes and flavors in my head, imagining how those little swirls shaped up, to make that sweet little treat that drifts your mind away to places only found in the uncharted territories of your mind. Ones we never dare tap into, in fear of what we might find waiting there.

DSC_0052

Lately I’ve been more than anxious to get started with moving these dreams into reality. My only mistake was rushing them. So now I promised myself one thing. Before I get to my corner, I need to test my patience. I will not give it away, but I will simmer it for the time being, and only when I’m ready, will I allow myself to dive back into it. For now, I shall go on with trying to fulfill my new year’s resolution, and revisit what flared up this passion inside me.

Given how this post is more on the sentimental side, the recipe I want to share is one of pure and simple goodness. A bitter-sweet dessert that lifts you through your downs, and shares your highs, the perfect marriage between dark chocolate and nuts.

DSC_0050 (1)Mini Orange Chocolate Barks with Nuts 

Ingredients:

  • 100 grams dark chocolate (preferably 70% or more)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Chopped nuts (I used almonds and pistachios)
  • Orange zest
  • Desiccated coconut

Directions:

  1. Melt the chocolate and the oil in a microwave at 30 second bursts, stirring well after every burst until smooth and melted.
  2. Spoon into mini muffin silicon cups, enough to just cover the bottom. Sprinkle toppings over each chocolate and allow them to cool. Put them in the fridge for at least an hour. Pop each disk out of the mold.

Bon Appetit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

