12 Days of Baking – Day 7: Chocolate Hazelnut Kisses

I’m editing this post a few hours before my flight home. I didn’t manage to finish those 12 days of baking, before I leave, but I will be finishing them from the original kitchen that started this all ❤ 

How many times do you skip a recipe that calls for 4 egg yolks just because you can’t think of anything or don’t have the energy to make use of the leftover whites? I know I’m personally guilty of looking past some really appealing recipes due to my laziness.

But, with Christmas baking, it’s inevitable to find yourself stuck with a few egg whites from this recipe and that. If you’ve been following my 12 Days of Baking series, you’ll see that my most recent dessert was the chocolate pot-de-creme. I just couldn’t help myself from making it, and I’m glad I did!

DSC_0037

So there I was, left with 4 egg whites. I could’ve just gone with my old Chocolate Crinkle Cookies, but they just didn’t feel festive enough for me. And then it hit me, meringue. Perfect little clouds of heaven that just melt in your mouth and gently kiss your insides. Fine, I might be exaggerating a little bit, but I can’t help it.

Although after the double hit of disappointment I had over the weekend with one almond cookies recipe (which turned out too bland) and one gingerbread man that never was (dough stuck all over the counter top, leaving me with gingerbread discs) I was less than enthusiastic to go back to the kitchen. But I had a challenge to finish.

But I found the recipe in my new Taste of Home baking book, and since I wasn’t completely happy with it,  I took the liberty of shaping it up a bit. I added hazelnuts and 70% chopped dark chocolate, just to give a contrast with the sweetness from the meringue. Since the original recipe called for 1 egg while I had 4, I had to round out the amount of sugar needed. And then I had a “Hallelujah! I am not a complete failure!” moment. I didn’t have anyone to share it with, but it was pretty satisfactory.

I didn’t use a piping bag for this (not because I’m lazy, but for lack of equipment). So I just dolloped teaspoonfuls of the batter on to the baking sheets. They turned out like mini fluffs of marshmallows.

DSC_0036

DSC_0035

12 Days of baking:
Day 1: Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies
Day 2: Red Velvet Brownie Bars
Day 3: Melt-in-your-mouth Snowball Cookies
Day 4: Easy Chocolate Truffles
Day 5: Hot Cocoa Mix.
Day 6: Chocolate Espresso Pot-de-Creme

Chocolate Hazelnut Kisses:
Yields:
24 medium meringues.

Ingredients:

  • 4 egg whites, room temperature.
  • 1 tablespoon white vinegar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (you can add any flavoring you like)
  • 1/2 cup hazelnuts (any kind would do, according to preference)
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used 70% dark chocolate, chopped)

Directions:

  1. First of all you need to make sure that all the utensils used are perfectly clean, or else the whites won’t be whipped well to reach stiff peaks. Preheat the oven to 180C
  2. In a bowl, beat eggs until a bit foamy and add vinegar. When soft peaks start forming, gradually add the sugar, beating between additions.
  3. Continue to beak them till stiff peaks form. (you’re able to form a ribbon with the egg whites when you remove the mixer). Add vanilla extract.
  4. Fold in chocolate and nuts.
  5. Drop by the teaspoons on prepared baking sheet, make sure to keep at least 1 inch between them, since they tend to spread a bit. Bake for 25 minutes, turn off the oven while opening the door slightly, and keep them there to continue cooking for another 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and finish cooling at room temperature.
  6. Store in an airtight container for up to a week.

Bon Appetit 🙂

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Charisma says:

    These look lovely, I would love to pop one in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

