12 Days of Baking – Day 4: Easy Chocolate Truffles

DSC_0020 (1)

When the weather takes a frosty turn with falling snow and Christmas lights brighten the night sky, the sweep of holiday festivities begin to descend. But, since I live in the desert, I have been missing out on that scene. I always talk about my need to recreate that whole mood for the sake of my mental and emotional state. I have somehow transformed into an overly attached person, I find it hard to detach myself from memories, scents, feelings, glimpses of an idea that once came up in my mind. At one point, I became a bitter person, with so much hate and anger at the world that it led me to seclude myself from all the people who once cared. But I managed to get over that, willingly, but difficultly.

That has transformed me, and somehow brought me one step (as tiny as it is) closer to trying to figure out where I stand.

It’s a bittersweet journey really. One with a million ups, only to be answered by a few other downs. But it’s all in the name of the journey.

Before you get bored by all this sappy talk, I promise, I have a point.

Truffles.

DSC_0019

Chocolate truffles represent much of my current emotions. Though truffles are undeniably decadent, they hold a bittersweet quality. You must break through the bitter, unsweetened cocoa exterior before you can reach the smooth, sweet chocolate interior. I won’t claim that I have reached that interior, I’m still far from getting there. But it’s a journey, and it’s one worth taking.

So, here it is. Day 4 of my 12 days of baking; Chocolate Truffles.

DSC_0018

DSC_0014 (1)

12 Days of Baking:
Day 1: Red Velvet Chocolate Chip Cookies
Day 2: Red Velvet Brownie Bars
Day 3: Melt-in-your-mouth Snowball Cookies 

Chocolate Truffles
Yields: 
15 mini truffles.

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp white sugar
  • 1/4 cup whipping cream
  • 2 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 170 grams semi-sweet chocolate (chopped)
  • 2 Tbsp of desired flavoring (I used rum, but you can use anything from brandy, amaretto, kahlua, or just vanilla extract, mint, raspberry.)
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts. (I used almonds)
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder

Directions: 

  1. Combine sugar, whipping cream, and butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Cook and stir until butter is melted. careful not to burn the mixture.
  2. Remove from heat, stir in chopped chocolate until well blended and smooth.
  3. Stir in flavoring. (you can even halve the batch and do two different flavorings)
  4. Chill in the fridge until completely cooled. Then shape into truffles of desired sizes. I used a teaspoon to make mini sized truffles. Let chill in the fridge again until firm.
  5. Roll balls into nuts or cocoa powder (You can use coconut shavings, sprinkles, powdered sugar or even melted white chocolate.)
  6. Store in a cool place.

Bon Appetit 🙂

13 Comments Add yours

  1. HishamAD says:

    Interesting insight and comparison. Cheers for food writing!
    Is the sugar necessary in this?

    And are you going to get some cold weather and snow soon?

    1. rouaw says:

      Thank you :). I personally liked it this way, and I’m not usually a fan of excessive sweetness. But it gave a good contrast with the cocoa powder coating.
      And I heard there’s another Summer in Lebanon, so I have a feeling I won’t be seeing those any time soon.

      1. HishamAD says:

        No no. I’m hearing news of storms. I want a white Christmas instead of blue.

      2. rouaw says:

        I sure hope so!!

Leave a Reply

