Heartwarming Winter Desserts.

It’s finally raining! Well, maybe it was just a few drops of rain on my windshield as I drove back home from work last night, but it rained! If you’re wondering why I’m this excited about the rain, and if you just started following my blog, then here’s a small recap.

I moved to Qatar about a year ago for work. I’m in the middle of the desert, and I’m someone who is very attached to her trees and mountains. I missed last year’s seasonal shift from crispy autumn to stormy winter. I missed the soul hugging smells of Christmas. I missed everything that made me feel at peace. Yes, I find serenity in the midst of howling winds.

So, we’re back to that time of the year again, winter is almost at the door, and with it comes the endless cravings for hot cocoa, spices, and winter fruits, which, when combined in perfect synergy, have the ability to make the grumpiest Scrooge smile.

In an attempt to give myself the illusion of winter, aside from setting my air conditioner on the lowest temperature and wearing hoodies and knee-high socks at home, I’m filling the house with the smells of winter.

To me, winter is about 3 major elements: Apples, Chocolate, and Cinnamon (and spices). Okay, I might have to cheat and add pears, chestnuts, and a few more things. But mix and match them however you want, and you’ll always get a perfect match. So, in no particular order, here’s a rough round up of the first things that come to mind when winter comes.

What are some of your favorite recipes?

(For an All Pumpkin autumn dessert compilation, you can check last year’s post here)

1-

chocolate-spiced-pear-tart-37

Spiced Chocolate Pear Tart
[Source: Kitchen Simplicity]

2-

 

134_1_1350896084_lrg

Chocolate Clafoutis with Caramelized Oranges
[Source: Jamie Oliver]

3-

FNM_100112-Olive-Oil-and-Chocolate-Fig-Cakes-Recipe_s4x3.jpg.rend.sni12col.landscape

Chocolate and Fig Cakes
[Source: Food Network]

4-

5-Minute-Grilled-Cinnamon-Toast-with-Chocolate.-51

5-Minute Cinnamon and Chocolate Toast
[Source: Half Baked Harvest]

5-

IMG_4488-600x400

Sticky Toffee Pudding
[Source: Poet in the Pantry]

6-

 

dsc_0038

Triple Chocolate Molasses Cookies
[Source: Rou’s Sweet Corner]

7-

15703589306_2cc50ba13f_c

Salted Caramel Apple and Pear Buckles
[Source: The Candid Appetite]

8-

26edf11_e_vert

Baked Apples with Dried Cherries and Maple Syrup
[Source: Martha Stewart]

9-

img_15741

Apple Galettes with Salted Caramel Sauce
[Source: Rou’s Sweet Corner]

10-

Roasted-Chestnuts-10

Roasted Herbed Chestnusts
[Source: Sprinkled Side Up]

11-

Spiced-Gingerbread-Man-Cookies-2

Spiced Gingerbread Men Cookies
[Source: Comfort of Cooking]

12-

Almond Gingerbread Cookies Doughmesstic_Recipes_1007x545

Almond Ginger Cookies
[Source: McCormick25-Hot-Chocolate-Recipes

And of course, no warm winter night is complete without a nice hot cup of cocoa, whether it’s the classic mum’s feel good cocoa that takes us back to when we were little kids, or one with a nice “adult” suited twist.
[Source: A Night Owl Blog]

And of course,

Bon Appetit 🙂

3 Comments Add yours

  1. HishamAD says:

    I’m walking outside to feel and perceive that winter is here. I miss it. I want it.
    Yalla. Come back and we’d have a pre(or post) Christmas gathering with lots of wintery desserts

    1. rouaw says:

      I just wanna hear the rain again. December can’t come any faster!

  2. Arielle says:

    Oh wow they all look so divine!! Thanks for sharing the recipes and the ideas! ❤

Leave a Reply

