Ultimate Chocolate Brownies.

I’ve been baking and blogging for almost two years now, and not once have I shared a brownies recipe. It’s not because I never made them (or at least attempted to make them) it’s because I truly think that they hate me. Brownies refuse to let me enjoy a perfectly baked batch. They either turn out under-baked (which gives a runny river of chocolate that can only be eaten with a spoon) or over-baked (which is perfect, if you want to break it down with a food processor and use it to make a trifle, which is how I saved a lot of batches from going to waste).

So I pretty much gave up (temporarily) on making brownies. I enjoy eating them, as long as I don’t have to go through the disappointment of making them.

Over the summer, my sister came to visit me for a while. after a lot of persistent nagging (and boy can she nag) to make her brownies, I told her to find a perfect fool-proof recipe, and maybe- just maybe- I’ll think about it. After all, a lot of mental preparation for failure has to be done beforehand. That was the deal.

And to my unfortunate surprise, she did. Not only did she find what seemed to be the ultimate brownies recipe, but she also introduced me to one of the bubbliest bakers I’ve ever seen, and that’s Cupcake Jemma (if you don’t know who she is, I highly recommend you check her channel out).

However, that didn’t stop me from putting the baking off using my usual excuse after a long day of work; “I’m too tired”.

IMG_3913

After getting fed up with me, and after drooling too long over that video, my sister decided to go ahead and bake it herself. And for me to be sharing this post now, means not only did my sister succeed in making them, but the brownies passed the fool-proof test.

So here’s a summary of what to expect from it; a fudgy, moist brownie, packed- and I do mean PACKED- with chocolate, with a delicately crunchy walnut crust (you can choose whatever nuts you want, I’d recommend using almonds with it, or maybe even hazelnuts! And if you’re not a fan of nuts, you can just go ahead and skip the crust). It is, the Ultimate Chocolate Brownie.

IMG_38832 IMG_3907 IMG_3912

Ultimate Chocolate Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 150 grams flour
  • 250 grams butter
  • 250 grams dark chocolate (at least 70% dark chocolate)
  • 350 grams white sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • Enough crushed walnuts to make a thin crust like layer (substitute the walnuts for any kind of nuts you prefer or skip it altogether)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your over to 180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Melt the butter and the chocolate in a bain-marie or in the microwave. (These were done in the microwave on 30-second bursts) and let it cool.
  3. Beat the sugar and the eggs together. Add the vanilla extract while beating.
  4. Add the chocolate and butter mixture. DO NOT WASTE ANY CHOCOLATE! Fold it in till it’s well mixed.
  5. Fold the sifted flour into the mixture, with a pinch of salt.
  6. Prepare the pan by lining it with buttered parchment paper, scattering the crushed nuts, and pouring that perfect brownie mixture on top of it.
  7. Bake it in the oven for 25-30 minutes. Amount of time will change depending on how gooey you like your brownies and how strong your oven is. To get a fudgy center, bake it for around 28 minutes.
  8. Let it cool for about an hour, and chop it into small serving squares.
  9. Serve it with a blob of vanilla ice cream or whipped cream, and enjoy the ultimate chocolate brownies!

Bon Appetit 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. anonymous says:

    Lindt chocolate with SAAALT!!!

Leave a Reply

