Chocolate Walnut Roll with Coffee Butter Cream Filling

on

Don’t get too confused by all the ingredients going on in the title.

For the sake of making reading this post easier, we’re going to go ahead and call these mini delights “Tante Anna’s walnut roll”.

Who’s Tante Anna, and why does she have walnut rolls?

If you’ve read my blog before, you’d probably know by now that I have a (not so) secret source for whenever I’m stuck on a recipe and I can’t get help from neither the internet nor my mother. You might have seen her name pop up on two different occasions, once when I needed a Sorbet recipe (you can find the recipe here) and another time when she saved me from an emotional crisis when she handed over her German Chocolate Cake recipe (you can find it here)

It’s been almost two years since I went  over to her place for Christmas dinner, I was fully equipped with what I thought was the perfect homemade gift (Cinnamon Crinkle Cookies). But little did I know, I was way over my head.

Put a bunch of Europeans under one roof for a Christmas dinner, and you’re sure to have a serious case of a sugar overdose. I’m not going to talk about the food, that needs a whole different post, I’m going to skip straight to the post meal treats.

The choices where overwhelming, starting with the ginger cookies, to the mini meringue sandwich thingies to the famous yule log. But one dessert caught my attention, it was a combination I hadn’t tasted before. I spent a while trying to figure out what it might be, but I just couldn’t put my “tongue” on it. The silky texture, the sweet roll with a perfectly contrasting salty filling. I was absolutely trumped, that little mouthful of heaven just made my night.

photo 5 (3)

When she told me what the recipe was I was a bit skeptical. It just didn’t make sense to me. But alas, you never question bakers with more experience.

The roll, which is basically just walnuts and sugar, contradicts perfectly the filling which is just butter and coffee. It’s an absolutely pleasant explosion of flavors in your mouth; your taste buds will beg you for more.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 1 (2)

Make the dough.

Chill the dough.

Make the filling.

Roll the dough.

photo 2 (2) photo 3 (2)_1 photo 4 (2) photo 5 (2) photo 1 (3)

Found my mom enjoying it with her morning Turkish coffee.

So, without further ado, here’s how it’s done.

Chocolate Walnut Roll with Coffee Butter Cream Filling
Makes 2 rolls. 

Ingredients: 

  • For the roll:
    – 250 grams icing sugar (powdered sugar)
    – 250 grams crushed walnuts
    – 3 teaspoons cocoa powder
    – 1 egg
  • For the filling:
    – 100 grams unsalted butter (softened at room temperature)
    – 1 Boiled egg (only the yolk, finely grated)
    – 1 teaspoon coffee (instant coffee diluted in a bit of water)

Directions:

  1. Make the roll:
    1. Mix all the ingredients for the dough together into a sticky dough.
    2. Divide it to make 2 balls.
    3. leave in the fridge to chill while you prepare the filling
    4. Easy right?
  2. Make the filling:
    1. Cream together the butter and grated egg yolk.
    2. Add coffee.
  3. ASSEMBLE!
    1. Roll the dough very thinly between plastic wrap (you will need that to avoid the dough sticking all over the place)
    2. Spread the filling and roll it into a tight log (you might need someone to help you out with this part)
    3. Wrap in a plastic film and refrigerate well.
    4. All you have left to do is just cut it into thin slices and serve them up!

And finally,

Poftă bună 🙂
5 Comments Add yours

  1. anonymous says:

    my stomach cried for need of such delight!!!

  2. HishamAD says:

    And it’s not baked?
    Sounds weird as you said but I’m sure it is delicious. I wanna meet Tante Anna

    1. rouaw says:

      Nope, not baked. I had the same thoughts while I made it the first time. But I was really glad I took the chance with it!

  3. fara says:

    It has raw eggs!!! no way i can eat it without baking or at least tampering the eggs!!!

  4. Lou-Ann says:

    Wow that looks really good. I love no-bake recipes. 😀

Leave a Reply

