Chocolate Fudge Crinkle Cookies (And an Unexpected twist)

Two things you need to know before we go any further:
1- Cookies are a very touchy subject for me. It took me a while and several attempts to recreate the perfect chewy cookies that satisfy me taste buds. The nature of cookies is very controversial, some like them chewy, some like them cake-y, so my trail and error experiments produced the perfect ones (for me at least), which you can find here.

2- I am a loyal activist against the whole Gluten-free/Dairy-free/Raw vegan trend going around lately. I mean unless someone is allergic or medical condition that forces them to stay away from those ingredients, there’s no need to deprive yourself from earth’s natural resources.

IMG_8294

As an aspiring baker, I think a great deal of the experience comes form experimenting with all different techniques and combinations. And while I was going through new recipes for crinkle cookies, (I already have one which you can find here), I came across a link that got me drooling over my keyboard (no worries, I cleaned it up). I was so amazed by the perfect texture of the cookies. Big, fluffy, soft and chewy, with little specks of half melted chocolate chips just oozing their way out of the half bitten cookie, dusted with a layer of powdered sugar. They looked absolutely heavenly, and it was only 6 ingredients!

And here comes the big but (no pun intended).

They were gluten free.

I was pretty skeptical. I mean the greatest thing about cookies is the butter in it! And cookies without flour? That’s preposterous!

But that image of the cookies just wouldn’t leave my mind! So I decided to give it a shot, I mean really, how bad can it get?

I’ll tell you how bad… Absolutely far from it.

They actually held together really well, and when I got them out of the oven, they had that perfect crinkled surface. It was almost like magic.

I have to admit though, they’re not my cup of tea. They’re a bit too sweet for my taste, and not fluffy enough. But, they do have a way to satisfy your chocolate-est cravings.

IMG_4504

IMG_4507

IMG_4506

IMG_4505

And of course, my loyal helper..

IMG_8291

IMG_4516

IMG_8297

Six Ingredients Chocolate Fudge Crinkle Cookies:
Makes around 23 cookies.

Ingredients:
– 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips (dairy-free if you want), divided
– 3 large egg whites, room temperature
– 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar, divided
– 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
– 1 tablespoon cornstarch
– 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:
1- Preheat oven to 180°C.
2- Melt 1 cup of the chocolate chips in glass bowl in microwave. Stirring about every 45 seconds or so until smooth.
3- Beat whites in large bowl to soft peaks. Gradually beat in 1 cup of the powdered sugar. Continue beating until mixture resembles soft marshmallow creme.
4- Whisk together another 1 cup of powdered sugar, cocoa, cornstarch, and salt and add to the whites.
5- Beat in the melted chocolate until thoroughly combined. Add the remaining chocolate chips. Allow to sit for about 5 minutes. It becomes more stiff and easier to work with if you let it rest (I put it in the fridge for around 10 minutes).
6- Place the remaining 1/2 cup of powdered sugar in bowl. Roll rounded tablespoons of the dough in the sugar and coat thickly. Place on a lightly greased cookie sheet, spacing about 2 inches apart.
7- Bake until puffed and tops crack, about 10 minutes. Cool on sheets on rack 10 minutes.

And enjoy your Gluten-Free Crinkles!!

Bon Appetit 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. HishamAD says:

    I always use less sugar than the recipe calls for. If the recipe is from American source, they tend to over-sweeten their recipes.

    1. rouaw says:

      I usually cut the sugar amount in half, but with this recipe’s meringue like base I didn’t want to risk playing with the ingredients. But next time I’m definitely going to play around with the proportions an it’s definitely not gonna be GF!!

  2. so, verdict: first of all, I ate nearly half the dough because, AMAGAD IT’S DELICIOUS. Second of all, i doubled the quantities, overcooked the first batch, which made them crunchy while the second batch is sinfully chewy. Tasted both, and I think that your recipe is a winner.

    1. rouaw says:

      Glad you liked them!

  3. Hi, the whole thing is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s genuinely good, keep up writing.

Leave a Reply

