Perfectly Minty Grasshopper Pie.

Me: I just made grasshopper pie, for St. Patrick’s day.
Sister: But, you’re not Irish.
Me: So? Desserts do not discriminate. They accept you, regardless of your culture and origin.

Image

Ever since I can remember, I’ve had an unexplainable obsession with anything that has to do with Ireland. I’ve been trying to go back through my memories, to pin down the the exact moment that triggered that obsession, but I failed to do that. I was convinced that I must have so Irish roots, even if I had to make them up.

Image

I’m absolutely, fascinated by their culture, their history, their music, their traditions, their mythology. I spend half my time daydreaming about walking along the cliffs of Moher, and the other half getting lost in the many posts on Pinterest. Whenever I feel down, all I have to do is look at those pictures and mentally transport myself to the serenity of its landscapes. It’s almost weird how you can get so attached to a place you’ve never visited, and isn’t exactly part of your own heritage. But that’s what Ireland does to me. I am convinced that I’d be at my happiest there.

ImageImage

Well, maybe someday.

So it comes to no surprise that I’d post something about Saint Patrick’s Day. Even if I weren’t part of that culture it doesn’t mean I should hold back from baking something to celebrate it.

Anyway, I’ve blabbered enough today. So let’s get to the dessert.

Grasshopper pie. Flaky pie crust, with a layer of dark chocolate peppermint pudding, topped with a bright green whipped cream and chocolate shavings for the finishing touches. The pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

Image

Grasshopper Pie:

I used a ready made crust (Or you can use my recipe for Pate Brisee which you can find here)

For the Chocolate Peppermint Pudding:

Ingredients:

For the Chocolate Peppermint Pudding:

  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 tsp peppermint extract
  • chopped chocolate

For the Mint Cream:

  • 250 ml whipping cream
  • Peppermint extract
  • a few drops of green food coloring.

Directions:

  1. In a sauce pan, mix sugar, cocoa powder and cornstarch over medium heat. Add 1 cup of milk and whisk.
  2. Add remaining milk, and whisk till they start to boil.
  3. let them simmer till they thicken.
  4. Add butter and chopped chocolate. Remove from heat and stir in peppermint extract.
  5. Pour into prepared pie crust. Put in the refrigerator to chill.
  6. While you wait for the pudding to chill, beat the whipped cream and add a peppermint extract and green food coloring.
  7. Spread the whipped cream over the cooled pudding and top it off with chocolate shavings.

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day and Bon Appetit 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Doaa Jabir says:

    That is irresistibly gorgeous. The color is lovely!

    1. rouaw says:

      Thank you! It was extremely fun to make too.

Leave a Reply

