Apple Galette with Salted Caramel Sauce.

Image

I miss home.

You probably wonder where that is. I’m wondering about that myself.

What do you do when home is no longer a place, but a state of mind? An abstract thought. A bubble you turn to when you need a peace and reassurance. You hang on to little threads and dreams of a future that you weave. Your home becomes a person, someone you hang on to with every fraction of your being. He becomes your home, your comfort. That’s the home you start to miss.

But pieces of the home you grew up in still linger in your memories. You try to reincarnate those flashes of moments just so you can smile again, so you can feel like you belong. What triggers my memories of home the most is coming back to a house infused with the smell of apples and cinnamon. It gives you the warmth of home. The hugs that you’ve missed. It takes me back to those late summer trips to my village, when apple season is at its peak, running around the fields picking apples. Nothing beats freshly picked fruits.

I guess you kind of figured by now where I’m going with this. I have two words for you, apple pie. For me, nothing says home like a freshly baked pie, heartwarming with every bite. Rather than making a traditional pie, I opted to make some apple galettes because I just love the simple and rustic look of them.

I used my pie crust recipe, and did two pies, one for me and one for my sister (Who we now know the gender of her baby! I’m planning a gender reveal post for later, so exciting!).

A very flakey all butter pie crust, filled with spiced apples, finished off with a salted caramel sauce and a scoop (or two) of vanilla ice cream. Heaven with each mouthful, the closest thing to home that you can get.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Apple Galette 

Ingredients

For the pie crust: I used my trusted pie crust recipe which makes two 20 cm disks. You can find it here.

  • Plus one egg, lightly beaten with a tablespoon of water, and light brown sugar.

For the apple filling:

  • 4 apples (or more depending on their size), peeled, cored, and thinly sliced
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoon corn starch
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice

For the caramel drizzle: A basic caramel sauce with a salted variation. You can find the recipe here.

Directions:

  1. Prepare the pie dough (which can be made ahead, I did it the night before).
  2. Preheat oven to 200 degrees c. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine the apples, sugar, cinnamon, corn starch, and lemon juice. Toss to combine.
  4. Divide the refrigerated dough into 2 equal pieces, and on a lightly floured work surface roll each piece into a circle about 3mm thick.
  5. Divide the apple mixture among the 2 rounds, and place in the centre of the crust, leaving a 3 cm border around the sides.
  6. Gently lift the galette border over the apples, and overlap the dough where necessary and gently pinch to keep the folds together.
  7. In a small bowl, mix together the egg and water. Lightly brush the egg wash on the edge of the dough, and sprinkle with the light brown sugar.
  8. Bake the galettes for 35 to 40 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown and apples are tender. Cool on baking sheet on a wire rack.

Serve warm drizzled with caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream if desired.

Bon Appetit 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. B says:

    I love it

  2. Patrick Ziadeh says:

    Next on my list! Good job with the blog I love it. You should consider making knefe.

    1. rouaw says:

      I’m not really into oriental desserts, but you never know!

Leave a Reply

