Chocolate (Covered) Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

I haven’t always been a fan of chocolate chip cookies, I found they were almost always disappointing. The dough would start off as this perfect bundle of sweetness, which I had to practice a lot of self restraint in order to keep myself from eating the whole thing raw. But then they meet their fate in the oven, and they just lose their charm. Of course I then found the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe, and that made all the difference.

However, I remain forever hooked on raw cookie dough. But then you get the whole salmonella scare and all. Well, I’ve been licking cookie dough beaters and cake batter-covered rubber spatulas since forever, either I’ve grown immune or have been very lucky.

These bite size balls of goodness are like a rain of sunshine on a cloudy day (or on a foggy morning in the desert, since it’s been really gloomy here lately).

My sister (crazy pregnant lady) had just come back from a visit Lebanon. So we got all the ingredients, and I actually let her sit with me in the kitchen, just for the company. I started off with the cookie dough, but the batch turned out a bit small, and I was planning on taking some to the office with me the next day. I quickly whipped up a second batch (I think I cheated the curse of the seconds), and left it in the fridge to chill.

Then came the exciting dipping-in-chocolate part!

I left my sister resting in the living room, melted the chocolate, and started with the process. Until she decided to come and help. Being the nice sister that I am, I made the mistake of letting her “play” around. I should’ve known there was an imminent disaster.

Yup, she ruined the ganache I had prepared. “Isn’t it a bit too thick” she said, “Let me add a bit of cold milk to that”. After those few words, a series of unfortunate events followed. between her microwaving the chocolate, then putting them on the heat in a pan, it all became too blurry.

I tried to look away, keep myself busy with rolling out the cookie dough balls, but I could hear the sound of crackling, burning chocolate behind me.

Trying to convince me that it’s still edible, she experimented with two balls. I almost cried.

I was out of chocolate.

A quick run to the mall, I got what I needed, of course my incessant murmurs tagged along throughout the entire ride.

The whole thing was absolutely worth it.

So, to all you raw-cookie-dough-nay-sayers out there, you don’t have an excuse anymore.

I mean, how can you say no to there little cuties?

Image

Image

Chocolate Covered Cookie Dough Balls….honestly, what else is there to say?

Image

Image

Image

Image

And a drizzle of white chocolate to get them all fancy.

Image

(as always, ignore the messiness. I mean it’s the imperfections that make them so perfect, no?)

Image

And the lone survivor from the batch I took with me to the office. That little guy found his way to my tummy. Along with his other (not going to state how many) friends.

So, here’s the how-to:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles:
Makes about 20 balls.

Ingredients:

  • 113 grams unsalted room temperature butter
  • 1/4 cup of white sugar
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  •  1 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons of milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  •  3/4 mini chocolate chips (or chopped chocolate of your choice, for cookie dough)
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted (I used Hershey’s chocolate chips)
  • 1/4 cup white chocolate chips, melted (optional for garnish)

Directions:

  1. In the bowl, beat together 1/2 cup unsalted room temperature butter with 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add in 2 tablespoons of milk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla, beat to combine.
  2. Add in 1 1/4 cups of all-purpose flour and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
  3. Finally fold in 3/4 mini chocolate chips.
  4. Place the bowl in the fridge and allow to chill for an hour or so.
  5. Remove the bowl from the fridge and roll into 1-inch balls and place the ball in the freezer for 20 minutes.
  6. Melt the chocolate by putting them in a bowl in the microwave with 30 second bursts, stirring the chocolate between bursts. (I needed 3 30-seconds to get it completely metled, but that depends on your microwave and the kind of chocolate you’re using)
  7. Dip balls into melted chocolate using a fork or toothpick. Shake off excess chocolate. (This is going to be very messy, so just try to ride that chocolate wave)
  8. Place balls on a sheet of parchment paper, decorate with white chocolate, you can even sprinkle them with mini chocolate chips, and allow them to harden. (I put mine in the fridge, faster eating time!)

All that’s left to do now is enjoying them!

Bon Appetit :)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. HishamAD says:

    I miss cake balls and truffles.
    I have to confess (already did on my blog) but only until recently that I tasted cookie dough. I had the same thought about salmonella in mind. But then I said whatever and popped a spoonful in my mouth. It was yummy.
    You post has no eggs so it’s more awesome. I shall try it.

    1. rouaw says:

      Well now you can eat it guilt free! Please, let me know when you try it, I’m really interested in feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

