Triple Chocolate Pound Cake

Another post fighting to make its way from the drafts to the published page.

Pound cakes. Pound cakes. Pound cakes.

No matter how many times I repeat that, it never gets less intimidating. Until, of course, I gather up the courage, get pushed around by my sisters, head to the kitchen, and start the experiments. What’s the thing they say, if you’re scared of trying something, start it off simple? Not sure if that’s actually there, but it makes sense. So anyway, what’s simpler, safer, and more delightful than chocolate?

The first time I attempted this recipe, it was a couple of months back, and my sister, who’s now 2 months pregnant (Yay to me becoming an aunt!) was craving a decent, decadent chocolate cake. And what else can you say to the pregnant (at times crazy) lady’s requests other than, “yes ma’am”. For some reason, only the name “Triple Chocolate” is enough to trigger those taste buds.

What’s so special about this cake? Well, other than the obvious triple threat, it’s absolutely foolproof. How do I know that? Well, allow me share with you the story of my “Seconds Curse”.

Throughout my baking experience, I’ve noticed some kind of pattern. I decide to bake a specific kind of dessert, finish my research and pile up the perfect recipe, I attempt it the first time, turns out perfect. I write it down in details, and keep it away in the famous recipe book. Later on, I decide to make it again. Every time I want to make a recipe a second time, it ends up as a total and utter mess. Of course this whole process is followed by a series of sobbing, doubting, and the famous “I’m not a worthy baker”. My family actually puts up with that and eats it anyway, after all, how bad can the result be? But then the third, fourth, and the hundredth attempt turn out beautifully.

This cake passed the “Seconds Curse”, which automatically puts is high up on my favorite recipes list.

A little description of the taste? A beautiful taste of chocolate, soft and dense on the inside, and that crack of perfection on the top… It’s sure to satisfy any crazy lady’s cravings.

(Big sister, if you’re reading this, I love you and the little munchkin :D)

So, without further ado, here’s the infamous Triple Chocolate Pound cake.

IMG_8863

And my helper for the day;

IMG_8864

IMG_8870

IMG_8873

IMG_8877

IMG_8882

Triple Chocolate Pound Cake: Makes 1 9×5″ loaf

Ingredients:

  • 100 grams butter, softened (the more softened, the better–leave the stick of butter out overnight to soften if you can)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 Tablespoon milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup chocolate, chopped.
  • Optional: For an orange-y twist, add some orange essence and candied orange peels, they give a delightful kick to it.
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease and flour a 9×5″ loaf pan; set aside.
Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sour cream, sugar, and half and half, blending ingredients well. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, salt, and cocoa powder.
  3. Add half the flour mixture to the butter-sugar mixture and blend well; then add the remaining flour mixture and blend everything well. Fold in the chopped chocolate, stirring to distribute them evenly in the batter.
  4. Pour or spoon batter into prepared loaf pan and bake at 325 degrees for 50 to 55 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out almost clean (your toothpick may not come out totally clean because of the melty chocolate chips in the loaf; be careful not to over bake or loaf may be a little dry).
  5. Cool in loaf pan 10-15 minutes; then remove from pan and cool completely.
  6. Add frosting, drizzle caramel sauce, you can use my recipe here or just eat it as is. It’s perfect anyway.

Note: This cake gets better and better by the day, so if (and that’s a big if) you have left overs from day one, just store it in an airtight container. Stays yummy for days.

Bon Appetit 🙂
2 Comments Add yours

  1. anonymous says:

    I love the flow of writing, first and foremost. It projects an exceptionally personal style.

    Can’t get over the “sway” describing the cake as decent and decadent. I bet it’s sinfully delicious.

Leave a Reply

