No-Bake Caramel Cheesecake

Let’s start this post with a simple breathing exercise… Breathe in… Taking in all the week’s trouble.. Send it down to your core… Imagine it turning into a little flame.. Burning away all the problems and issues… Now, breathe out..

No, my blog did not take a turn down yoga lane.

I got back to my yoga routines, finally. I’ve been a couch potato lately, coming back from work late, having soup for dinner (yes, I’ve been eating soup for the past 2 weeks, and I’m terribly ashamed of myself), and barely having any quality time with myself to actually let go of stress related work and just escape into my own little bubble. So I figured the only way to get my behind to be productive is if I forced myself into things, and so far it’s working, I got back to sketching, reading and well, yoga :D.

Personal update; check.

Now let’s get to the real deal. I am terrified of cheesecakes, which is why, during my 4 years baking journey, I have not once attempted to make it. I just settled for enjoying the ones mom made. But, I can’t always settle for cakes done by other people, I have this ego that always needs to twist something about the recipe.

Note about my relationship with my mom in the kitchen; it’s highly explosive. I think I’m right, she thinks she’s right and we’re both too stubborn to change our recipes. Whether it is about ingredients or techniques, we never see eye to eye. So, result? World War Three happening right in our kitchen.

When I decided to finally attempt doing the cheesecake we came to an agreement, we divided the work and made sure neither of us interferes with the work of the other. You’d think that would have settled it, right? Think again. It was messy, and I’m not taking about the dishes.

But, with all the fighting, bickering and mumbling that went around, we managed to end up with a little piece of cheesy goodness.

Image

Image

Image

Image

No-Bake Caramel Cheesecake:

For the crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups Digestive biscuits (or any kind of biscuit of your choice)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 100g Jam (I used strawberry jam, you can use any flavor you like)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest.

For the filling:

  • 225 grams cream cheese
  • 1 cup (1 brick) all purpose cream
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons liquid milk
  • 1 tablespoon unflavored gelatin
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice (optional) and lemon zest.
  • Cinnamon (optional and to taste)

For the topping:

  • Homemade Caramel Sauce. (recipe Here)

Directions:

Start off by making the crust:

  1. Crush biscuits, if you don’t have store-bought crumbs. You can use a food processor like I did, to make crumbs fast and easy.
  2. Mix all dry ingredients and add jam to bind. Mash well.
  3. Transfer and press evenly on bottom of ungreased springform pan.
  4. Put it in the freezer to harden crust while you prepare the filling.

To prepare the filling:

  1. Using a mixer, whip chilled cream with 2 tablespoon sugar until stiff.
  2. In the same bowl, gradually mix remaining sugar and softened cream cheese.
  3. Beat until fluffy and set aside.
  4. In a small sauce pan, combine milk and gelatine powder. Heat until completely dissolved (don’t boil, use a wire whisk while heating to remove lumps).
  5. Remove from heat, pour and beat into cream cheese mixture.
  6.  Add lemon juice if you want some zest in your cream filling.

Cheesecake Assemble!

  1. Bring out pan from freezer and pour in the cheesecake filling. Spread evenly with spatula and tap pan lightly to set and release some air bubbles.
  2. Cover pan and chill for a few hours.
  3. Top with caramel sauce before serving.
Bon Appetit 🙂
2 Comments Add yours

  1. anonymous says:

    I would love having a heart attack from this

Leave a Reply

