Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

This post has been lurking in my drafts folder for almost a month and a half now, and I haven’t gotten around to finishing it. I finally moved, settled in, and started my new job which is practically sucking out every last bit of energy I manage to refill during my weekend. I’m not complaining, I really like the job, but I guess a bit of nagging comes along with the territory.

I have seen poppy seeds recipes, but never tried any of them since they’re not available back home. Funny story comes with them that involves dad, and a spice shop owner where he ended up getting funny looks from the man because “we don’t sell that kind of substances”. What I missed from my research is the part where poppy seeds comes with the term opium.

After telling this to my boyfriend’s sister, and after a lot of teasing and laughing and feeling sorry for me, she got me a packet of poppy seeds they had, and later on got me a bag of them after their trip back home (Romania). Which I, guiltless, got with me here. I NEED MY OPIUM! (Not really, I just didn’t get to try all the recipes I wanted).

So I decided to start with a basic recipe. One that I’ve come across a million of times. A simple lemon poppy seed muffins. Those little seeds are pleasantly nutty, and have an unspoken love affair with lemons. They do have a tendency to get stuck in your teeth, but seriously though, who really cares?

These little babies are super easy, irresistibly cute and are a guaranteed hit.

I paired them up with some strawberry jam, but if you’re up to it, prepare some lemon curd and dive into the awesomeness of the combination. (You can find the recipe for lemon curd here)

IMG_7410

IMG_7411

IMG_7413

IMG_7403

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins.
Makes about 20 regular sized muffins.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 115 grams unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 packed tablespoon grated lemon zest
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup poppy seeds

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees & muffin tin.
  2. Sift the flour, baking powder, salt & baking soda into a mixing bowl & set aside.
  3. In a liquid measuring cup, whisk the buttermilk & lemon juice together.
  4. Using either a hand, or stand mixer, beat the butter, sugar & lemon zest together until blended. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing after each & occasionally scraping down the bowl.
  5. Add the dry ingredients in 3 additions, alternating with the buttermilk mixture, in 2 additions. Mix until just blended. Stir in the poppy seeds.

Fill the muffin tins with heaping tablespoonfuls of the batter. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, about 22 minutes. Let the muffins cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a metal rack to cool completely.

Bon Appetit 🙂

5 Comments Add yours

  1. HishamAD says:

    Isn’t it annoying to have a job that drains you at the end of the day/week and take you away from what you love?
    This is happening to me. I finish work and I say to myself that I don’t want another screen in front of me and I don’t want to focus on anything.

    You’re not in Lebanon, right?
    I’ve seen poppy seeds here.

    1. rouaw says:

      Exactly, but I need to figure out a way to get back to my weekly blogging, try to use it as an escape. I’m currently in Qatar, but even when I was in Lebanon I couldn’t find it everywhere, maybe just in specialized shops or something.

      1. HishamAD says:

        I’m trying. But my posts are long and elaborate. They’re like stories with lots of photos. That need editing.
        But I never stop trying to write and create more content.

  2. Ooh i totally get the thrill from publishing a draft post that has been lingering around for over a year (sometimes in my case;)), I’m currently trying the daily blogging challenge (NaBloPoMo), and it has proven to be a good writing exercise especially in times of “stress”. It’s helping me revisit my drafts and come up with blog ideas that don’t need much time to finish up! and I love all lemon-related recipes! i could eat lemon curd by the spoonfuls:)

    1. rouaw says:

      I’m glad to know I’m not alone! And I totally agree with eating lemon curd with a spoon, it’s perfect on its own! I’ll definitely check out that challenge.

Leave a Reply

