Home Sweet Home… And Pumpkin Pie.

So apparently there are two types of people: those who pick pumpkin and those who favor apple as their favorite Fall flavor. I’m clearly in the minority as I fall into the apple/cinnamon category!

However, with my Pinterest feed is rapidly filling up with Fall, pumpkin and the color orange, my sister continuously nagging about how she’s dying to have some pumpkin pie, I had to cave into the pressure. 

I have to admit the fact that I really don’t like pumpkin. As an amateur baker, it is almost blasphemous to say that you hate a flavor, but sometimes you can’t help what your taste buds prefer. 

I’m back home for a bit, to spend the holiday (Eid el Adha) and then going back to Qatar to start work (YES I GOT A JOB!). Mom had bought a new pie pan, which I was very excited to try (I have a thing for rectangular pans). 

The weather around here is still far from being close to Fall. But a couple of days ago, the temperature dropped (very slightly) with a few drops of rain, and in my last post I had promised you another pie. 

So in an attempt to recreate an air of fall, one that I will be missing considering the fact that I’m going to be living in a dessert, and I got all my appliances with me, which I’m going to be abusing, here’s a simple classic pumpkin pie recipe, with a glazed walnut topping. 

There was a unanimous vote from my family that it’s the best pumpkin pie they ever had. 

You can even skip the crust part and just pour your filling in a ramekin and bake it for a lower calorie dessert! It’s honestly a win win dessert. 

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Pumpkin Pie with Glazed Walnut Topping

For the crust, use half a batch of this Pate Brisee recipe (or the remaining disk if you’ve done it earlier like I have, the remaining disk) 

For the Pumpkin filling
Ingredients:

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup Muscovado light or dark-brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 14oz can pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees. Roll out your prepared dough on a lightly floured surface and fit into your pan. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove and let cool.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare the filling. Mix together both sugars, salt, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. Add pumpkin puree and stir well to combine. Whisk in 3 eggs and cream.
  3. Pour pumpkin mixture into prepared pie shell. Transfer to a 180 degree oven and bake until filling is just set, about 40 minutes. Sprinkle pie with topping and let cool completely on a wire rack. 

For the glazed Walnut Topping

Ingredients: 

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • large pinch of salt
  • Add any kind of nuts you like (almonds, pepitas…)
  1. In a large non-stick skillet, heat the butter over medium high heat. Add nuts and raisins and saute until they begin to brown slightly, just about 2 minutes.
  2. Sprinkle brown sugar and salt over and stir and cook another 2 minutes, until sugar has melted and nuts have been coated. Remove from heat and top sprinkle over the pie when it’s out of the oven.

Bon Appetit 🙂 

  

Leave a Reply

