Chocolate Pudding Pie and a Whole Lot of Improvising.

Warning: This is not an info post. This is me, actually baking again.

So yeah, I finally got my stuff together and got back to baking. I haven’t exactly been away from the kitchen, but I’ve basically been cooking for survival. I don’t know what exactly it was that kept me away from baking, I mean I had all the ingredients and everything ready, I just couldn’t get myself to do it.

But, after a few days of incessant nagging from my boyfriend, and the fact that my sister was comi9ng over (freeing me from the guilt of eating an entire pie alone) I got myself to get over whatever kind of psychological state I’ve been in, got off my lazy behind, and made some PIE 😀

Now the process saw A LOT of improvisation; putting the crust in the freezer instead of the fridge, noticing that I don’t have a rolling pin, no cocoa powder for the chocolate pudding, no heavy cream for the ganache, no oranges for the pudding, I didn’t have a digital scale or decent cups for measuring (I had to estimate proportions) and many other missing ingredients and supplies, but hey, at least I got up!

Being as this is the first time I actually do a pie crust without any sort of electric appliances I was very hesitant. I wanted a perfect buttery and flaky crust, and I was in no position to accept a failed pie. I actually enjoy the process of baking and seeing a perfect outcome more than eating whatever dessert I’m making, I end up eating only a piece to check the taste.

Anyway, here’s a fail-proof pie crust recipe that’ll make even the most insecure baker want to try it out.

Image

Image

For the Pie Crust (Pate Brisee): Slightly adapted from Smitten Kitchen. 
Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 225 grams unsalted butter, cubed and cold
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon (optional but highly recommended, it adds an amazing taste)
  • 1/3 cup of ice cold water.

Directions:

  1. In a very wide bowl, so you can get your hands in there, add all the dry ingredients and give them a little whisk.
  2. Sprinkle the cold, cubed butter over the flour. Now here’s the fun part. If you don’t have a food processor, like me, get your fingers in there. Start by pinching in the butter with the flour mixture. Keep going till you get small chunks of pea sized pieces. (They’ll look like the second picture above)
  3. Now get your water and drizzle it over the mixture. Using a spatula, gather the dough together. When you start seeing that the dough is really coming together, get your hands in there again.
  4. Gather the damp clumps together and knead it gently, not too much though, into one mound.
  5. Divide the dough in half, and wrap them in plastic wrap.
  6. Put one in the freezer (it should keep for over a month) and the other one put it in the fridge to chill a bit (DO NOT DO THE MISTAKE I DID, I had to wait for almost 3 hours to thaw my dough because I accidentally placed it in the freezer).
  7. After chilling it for about 30 mins, roll it out to fit your pie pan, and bake it in a preheated oven at 180 degrees for 20-25 minutes, or until edges become golden.

And there you have it, your basic pie crust! Now let’s fill it in 😀

ImageExcuse the finger prints, I didn’t have a rolling pin.

Image

Image

Image

Chocolate Pudding:
Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 6 tbsp flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 1/4 cup of instant coffee diluted in water
  • 1 teaspoon unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • chunks of dark chocolate (optional to add richness to the pudding)

Directions:

  1. Mix first 5 ingredients in a heavy saucepan.  Add 1 cup milk and whisk to dissolve ingredients.
  2. Whisk in remaining milk.  Whisk mixture over medium heat until thickened and beginning to simmer, about 5 minutes.
  3. Add the diluted instant coffee.
  4. Simmer 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Stir in butter, vanilla extract and chunks of chocolate.
  5. Pour the chocolate pudding into the prepared pie crust, and leave to set and cool.
  6. For a slight variation, you can add orange juice instead of the coffee.

And there you have it, a chocolate pie for the weak-hearted baker 😀

Bon Appetit 😀

P.S. There will be another pie post very soon, I still have another crust in the freezer 😉

5 Comments Add yours

  1. abbas jbeily says:

    WOWW i will certainly try this one look easier than the brownies im used to bake

    1. rouaw says:

      I hope you do try it and let me know how it turns out 😀

  2. Rana says:

    Allow me to state that this pie was DELICIOUS !

Leave a Reply

