Sinful German Chocolate Cake.

If you ask any blogger about one thing they wish for, they’ll have one answer, “exposure”. I’ve been blogging on and off for almost a year now, I’ve had my ups and downs, and my occasional “Oh, I love your blog” comments from friends in university, Twitter friends and family members, which feels really good, but you always need that little step up to make you feel like you’re really doing something. And then I got it.

A couple of weeks after handing in my senior project, I was contacted by a journalist who writes for our local newspaper. She was interested in my blog! After a 20 minute interview, she asked me to write a blog post that would be exclusive for the newspaper. 

If you’ve been following me long enough you’d know how much of a stress freak I am, I let my emotions get the best of me. After a while of scavenging through my old recipes I couldn’t manage finding something that would appeal to whoever might read the article, (looking back at it now I think I might have been over reacting, just a tiny little bit). After hours of the usual meltdown, with  “I don’t want to do this anymore”, “I suck at everything”, and “I am never going to do anything with my life”, and my family coming this close to throwing me out of the window, my boyfriend brought out the big guns, his mother.

She gave me a little pep talk, and of course put forth her expertise. After a few suggestions, we finally settled on what might probably be the perfect item. The Chocolate Cake. 

Now I know there are a million chocolate cake recipes out there, but there’s always that one thing missing that you can’t put your hand on. I have shared a chocolate cake recipe before, which you can find here, but for those days that you’re willing to indulge in a sinful dessert, this cake would be it, why is it sinful? Scroll down for the recipe and you’ll figure it out. 

So moist, so sweet, so chocolate-y and so German, this chocolate cake was beyond perfection.

 Image

 

You can find the article here and the recipe here

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

Without further ado, here’s the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 250 grams unsalted butter
  • 150 grams brown sugar
  • 150 grams white sugar
  • 125 ml milk
  • 200 grams flour
  • 4 tbsp powdered cocoa
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp instant coffee
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius, butter and prepare pan. 
  2. In a sauce pan, over medium heat, add the sugars, cocoa powder, milk and butter. Stir until mixture is smooth and everything melts and is completely incorporated. 
  3. Once the mixture is about to boil, add the cinnamon and instant coffee. 
  4. Take 20 tablespoon of this mixture and set aside for later use. 
  5. After it is slightly cooled, put the rest of the mixture in a bowl, and add egg yolks. Beat well. 
  6. Add flour and baking powder, whisk until incorporated.
  7. In a clean bowl, beat the egg whites till you get stiff peaks. 
  8. Fold the egg whites into the chocolate-flour mixture. Fold until all visible lumps are gone. You will get a smooth velvety batter.
  9.  Bake the cake for 40 minutes or depending on your oven. The cake will have a soft center. 
  10. Cut the cake into large squares right after it is out of the oven, do it calmly as to prevent the cake from breaking. Put the remaining syrup on the cake and let it rest for a bit. 
  11. Put it in the fridge for almost an hour before serving, it’ll give the cake a moist and solid texture.
  12. Serve up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. 

Bon appetit 😀 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. HishamAD says:

    That’s an awesome opportunity.
    Good luck

Leave a Reply

