The Magic is Back.

It’s been so long that I’ve been here, I almost feel a bit rusty. The past few months have been insane; finishing up university and handing in my senior project. I can now finally breathe! It’s been one heck of a journey, and anyone who’s been to design school will know the amount of frustration and depression one goes through.

But, enough with the melodramatic tone, let’s look at the upside! I now have all the time in the world to do all the things I’ve been putting on hold; learning a new language, drawing and designing, baking and blogging, and pretty much enjoy the unemployed life! Exciting no?

Now to the fun part, I finally got myself back to the kitchen and felt like magic is in the air, if you’ve followed my blog before, you might recognize the kind of magic I’m talking about. This little beauty that instantly got to the top of my favorite dessert list, the chocolate magic cake.

The moment I made it back then I was sure I’m gonna be making it frequently with all variations possible, so this time I wanted it to be a vanilla magic cake, to suit the air of Ramadan a bit, and chocolate just didn’t seem to do it.

Image

So to make up for all this time being void of this cake, I made sure not to stuff myself with food over dinner so I can get the chance to eat my heart out of this dessert. I ended up inhaling almost half of it. Totally worth it!

Image

I got a few glitches in it though, I left it in the oven for a bit too long and I ended up getting a bit of an uneven surface with cracks, and a slightly burnt bottom (what kind of a source would I be if I didn’t vouch for my mistakes!) But alas, I love my babies no matter what their faults are! πŸ˜€

Image

Image

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (113g) unsalted Butter
  • 2 cups (480ml) Milk
  • 4 Eggs, separated at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups (150g) Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon (15ml) Water
  • 1 cup (115g) Flour
  • 1 teaspoon (5ml) Vanilla Extract
  • zest of one lemon

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325Β°F. Lightly butter or grease a 8″x8″ baking dish.
  2. Melt the butter and set aside to slightly cool. Warm the milk to lukewarm and set aside.
  3. Whip the egg whites to stiff peaks *see head note. Set aside.
  4. Beat the egg yolks and sifted sugar until light. Mix in the melted butter and the tablespoon of water for about 2 minutes or until evenly incorporated.
  5. Mix in the flour and lemon zest until evenly incorporated. Slowly beat in the milk and vanilla extract until everything is well mixed.
  6. Fold in the egg whites, 1/3 at a time. Repeat until all of the egg whites are folded in.
  7. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 45-60 minutes or until the top is golden. Allow cake to completely cool before cutting.

N.B. you’ll know the cake is done when it get a “slight jiggle” to it, it’s a bit tricky to tell when that it, so you’re going to have to test your luck with this. But when you smell burnt sugar, you’ll know you waited a bit too long (like I did) but not to worry, you can easily scrape off the burnt bottom layer and you’ll be left by an equally satisfying cake.

Bon Appetit πŸ™‚

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Welcome back Love! We missed your posts πŸ˜€
    P.S. I love the new layout

    1. rouaw says:

      Thank you πŸ˜€ I’m back for good now πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

