A Little Taste of Spring: Strawberry Sorbet.

Springtime is here! Well actually it’s been here for a couple of weeks now, but we all know what that means! Little buds on trees and plants, landscapes beginning to be filled with blossoms and greening up. Well, theoretically at least. The weather is still unsettled, one day it’s crazy windy, the other it’s suffocating hot! The only way to feel the spring in the air is if we made it feel like spring. What other way is there than some strawberry sorbet? 

Spring is strawberry season. At my house, we start buying them in huge amounts and freezing them so we can have them available for us all year long. Although I do prefer the experience of having a small garden, with strawberry fields (forever – sorry for The Beatles reference, I couldn’t help it :D) crouching in the sun, picking plump, warm berries and filling baskets and buckets until they absolutely can’t hold another berry. Unfortunately, I live in a city with more concrete than green. 

One thing I need to say here, and this is probably going to make me sound bad, but I have the most amazing source for recipes I’m stuck on, that I can’t find online or in my reach. Yes, I mean my boyfriend’s mom. The amazing part about it is that she’s Hungarian, lived her life in Romania, and is now settled here in Lebanon. And she comes from a family interested in baking and cooking and all that. 

 

The reason I mentioned this is because I don’t have an ice cream maker, and it was really hard for me to find a recipe for a sorbet that doesn’t need one. So, without hesitation, I knew who to call. And as usual, I was not disappointed.

I thought it was going to be a hassle, but to my surprise (and excitement) it turned out easier than singing the A B C.

With just 5 ingredients you can find in your pantry, and absolutely no machines needed of any kind!

Every spoonful is just a delight to your taste buds. It turned out smooth and deliciously perfect. And yes, I, a non-ice cream lover (feel free to shoot me after that confession), couldn’t keep myself away from the bowl, I even woke up at 8 in the morning just to have a bit of it.  

Image

 

Image

Try different ways of serving it. Add some mint or basil leaves, chocolate sauce, and some fresh strawberries. You can even pair it up with some chocolate cake, or maybe another sorbet! 

N.B. I doubled the recipe because I knew it wouldn’t be enough. So if you’re a sorbet lover and want to try this, I suggest you do the same. 

Ingredients

  • 250 grams strawberries (mashed into puree) 
  • 250 grams sugar
  • 200 ml water
  • 200 ml heavy cream
  • Juice of 1 lemon

Directions

  1. Combine sugar and water in a sauce pan over medium heat
  2. Let the mixture boil to syrup-like texture. 
  3. Turn heat to low, and leave for 10-15 minutes. Set aside and leave to cool.
  4. Meanwhile, whip the heavy cream till peeks form.
  5. Prepare a Tupperware, or whatever container you want to keep your sorbet in. (Make sure it’s big enough, as you’re going to be using it for the entire mixture).
  6. Pour syrup into Tupperware, and add strawberries. Mix till well incorporated. 
  7. Add the lemon juice. (You can add it to taste, I used half the quantity)
  8. Add the whipped cream.
  9. Mix all the ingredients together. 
  10. Place the Tupperware in the freezer.
  11. And here comes the test of patience. Take the mixture out after an hour, and mix it with a spoon. Place it back in the freezer.
  12. Repeat that process twice, with 2.5 hour intervals. This will prevent the forming of ice crystals and ensures you get a nice and smooth texture for the sorbet. 
  13. Keep overnight. (Or just skip this step and dig right it, that’s what I did) 

Enjoy!! 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

