Chocolate Espresso Mousse

on

I wanted mousse. I wanted caffeine. Chocolate + Caffeine = Perfect Combo!

I’ve always been afraid of everything that needed patience and sensitivity in the kitchen, mainly because I lack both qualities. But my cravings took the best of me and I decided to just do it, I mean what the heck, what’s the worse that could go wrong?

Apparently nothing!

And well as usual, I’m doing these instead of studying, but in my defense I did great last semester so I think I deserve a little break at the beginning of my final semester, don’t you think?  These, being my final 3 months as a student, makes me think about what comes next. After 5 long years of having nothing to do except study, the time has come to actually figure out what I want to do next.

Now back to the point. Soft, creamy, chocolate mousse. Smooth, almost pudding-like, chocolate mousse. Rich, super chocolate-y mousse. If you’ve never tried it, it’s unbelievably easy to make at home.Oh and did I mention that it’s healthy?

You crack some eggs. You melt some chocolate. You whip some cream. You have a fantastic dessert that’s perfect for date night, holidays, or my favorite reason: just because.

IMG_4710

IMG_4708

IMG_4709

Chocolate Espresso Mousse

Ingredients:

  • 125 gms dark chocolate
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 40 gms sugar
  • 30 ml espresso
  • 2 tbsp milk (30 ml)
  • Pomegranate. (optional)
  • chocolate shavings. (optional)

Instructions: 

  1. Melt the chocolate either in the microwave or in a bain-marie and let it cool down slightly.
  2. Beat the egg whites until stiff with an electric mixer and keep them aside.
  3. Whisk the egg yolks and the sugar with an electric mixer until pale.
  4. Add the melted chocolate, espresso and milk and mix well until combined.
  5. Gently incorporate the whipped egg whites into the chocolate mixture using a lifting and rolling motion, so that the mousse remains fluffy.
  6. Put the mousse in serving glasses and refrigerate it for at least 2 hours before serving.

I sprinkled pomegranate between the layers of chocolate mousse in each cup, I think it adds a nice flavor and a nice contrast, top off with some chocolate shavings, et voilà!

Leave a Reply

