Profiteroles

The storm has finally left.. A week of non-stop rain followed by extreme cold weather turned everyone grumpy, but for me it was an excuse to catch up on reading and projects, and a great way to get me to start knitting! Me and my mom are having knitting and crocheting sessions every night. This weekend was a baking marathon for me, making orange cupcakes with vanilla cream frosting on Saturday ( you can find the recipe here ), which of course did not see the light of day! 

Woke up Sunday still not over my sugar cravings. I have a couple of things I really feel like trying, but my mom was feeling like having some profiteroles, which is basically a choux pastry filled with cream.. So it was settled, we went all French on it.. 

I used my special muscle mixer (my mom) to help me with the beating and she made the cream filling.. I’d only tried this recipe once, a long time ago, french pastry recipes are very intimidating for me. So I got out my recipe books and went to work.. 

Image

Image

 

Image

 

 

Ingredients:
For the Choux Pastry:

– 3/4 cups of water
– 85 grams unsalted butter, at room temperature
– 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
– pinch of salt
– 1 cup of all-purpose flour
– 4 eggs, at room temperature

For the cream filling:

– 3 tablespoons of milk
– 3 tablespoons flour
– 1 eggs 
– 2 tablespoons sugar
– 1 1/2 cups of water
– zest of 1 orange
– zest of 1 lemon
– 1 tablespoon of rosewater 

Directions:

For the Pastry:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees and prepare baking sheets with parchment paper
  2. In a saucepan, combine water and butter over medium heat, add salt and sugar.
  3. When it starts boiling, remove from heat and add sifted flour. 
  4. Bring back to heat till dough start pulling away from edges of the pan
  5. let dough cool a bit and start adding eggs one at a time, beating vigorously after each addition.
  6. Spoon dough onto baking sheet, you can use an ice cream scooper, it ensure having same sized balls.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes, reduce heat, then bake for 10 more. 
  8. Take them out of the oven and slit the sides, and let them dry off a bit in the oven with the heat turned off. 
  9. Finish off by filling them with the cream while puffs are still warm and top with chocolate syrup. 

For the Cream: 

  1. Add all the ingredients in a saucepan, on a medium heat and keep stirring till it comes together and boils, around 10-15 minutes. 
  2. Right before taking them off the heat, add about a tablespoon of rose water.
  3. Put in a bowl and cover with plastic sheet to prevent t a crust from forming on its top. 

Enjoy! 😀

One Comment Add yours

  1. anonymous says:

    damn… *_*

Leave a Reply

