Magic, Fantasy and Some Oranges on the Side.

For all fantasy novel/series fans, you probably know that this weekend was the most anticipated weekend for the past year. Yes, you know what I’m talking about! The long awaited Game of Thrones season 3 premiere!!

Yes, I am a proud fan! Maybe even a bit on the obsessed side. The season premiere was at 4 a.m. in our local timing, but that wasn’t going to stop me from watching it! I got my live stream link ready, my GoT feels ready, and I was all set for it. But what good is a premiere night without some good old fashioned honeycake? Our King Robert’s favorite dessert?

I got the recipe and, driven by all the excitement, I set out to work! Yeah well, that didn’t turn out well. Maybe it’s the fact that I was baking late, or because I was too emotional, but I like to blame it on the recipe. I was a complete fail. The cake turned out dry and with a bland taste.

Filled with utter disappointment, I stayed up waiting for the premiere, all alone, with no cake to keep me company.

And then there it was, shining right in front of me, “Orange Chocolate Magic Cake”.

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this recipe for cake batter that magically separates into 3 layers (cake on the bottom, custard in the middle, cake on the top). It seemed too good to be true. Naturally, in order to make up for the failed mess, I had to try it!

To my absolute delight, the cake was fantastic!

Not only is it absolutely heavenly, the textures are beyond perfection!

The cake-y top is so light and fluffy, and the custard is almost indescribable. The custard is smooth, thick, velvety, and just plain irresistible!

This recipe is definitely on my favorite desserts list.

Image

Image

Image

The original recipe called for Cointreau, but since I didn’t have any available, I substituted it for orange juice and zest.

Recipe adapted from http://whiteonricecouple.com/recipes/chocolate-magic-custard-cake/

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1/8 teaspoon distilled vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • Juice of one orange (I used blood orange)
  • Zest of one orange
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°F and lightly grease a 8″x8″ baking dish.
  2. Warm the whole milk to lukewarm and set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour and cocoa powder for 20 seconds.
  4. Whip the egg whites with vinegar until stiff peaks form.
  5. Beat the egg yolks and sugar until light in color. Beat in the oil, orange juice and zest (if using Cointreau instead of the juice, use 3 tbsps), and vanilla extract for about 2 minutes until evenly incorporated.
  6. Mix in the flour/cocoa into the batter until evenly incorporated. The batter will be tough to begin with. Gently whisk in the milk until batter is smooth.
  7. Fold in the egg whites, 1/3 at a time. The batter will be somewhat lumpy.
  8. Pour the batter into the greased pan and bake for 50-60 minutes. The cake should have a slight jiggle when done.
  9. Let the cake completely cool before cutting. (The part I always mess up because of my impatience!)
6 thoughts on “Magic, Fantasy and Some Oranges on the Side.

  1. Pingback: Spring/Summer Dessert Compilation | Rou's Sweet Corner

Leave a Reply

